The Allegany Arts Council is pleased to host its annual
Allegany National Photography Competition & Exhibition (ANPCE)
April 2-23, 2022.

About the Show

The Allegany National Photography Competition & Exhibition is one of the Allegany Arts Council's signature events, now entering its eighth year. Established in 2015, it began as a way to showcase photography talent in the region, but quickly grew into a nationally-recognized competition.

The competition has steadily grown in popularity, receiving nearly 1000 entries nationwide from photographers representing 41 states. Today, the show serves as a model for other organizations seeking to develop programs of their own.

The competition has always featured three categories, black and white (monochrome), color, and a third category which has continued to evolve. That category, Photography as Sculpture, is intended to seek the adventurous photographer looking to expand the traditional definitions of photography in new directions.

The show offers a diverse and wide-ranging look at the world of photography, exploring ever-changing themes found in nature, society, politics, and people.

The 8th Annual exhibition will run from April 2-23, 2022.

The Call

The call for entry is now closed.


The 2022 program will offer the following prizes:

Best in Show:

First Place: $800
Second Place: $250
Third Place: $100

First Place: $800
Second Place: $250
Third Place: $100

Photography as Sculpture
First Place: $1000

People's Choice:

Meet the Juror

David Oresick
Executive Director and Chief Curator, Silver Eye Center for Photography
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

David Oresick is the Executive Director and Chief Curator of Silver Eye Center for Photography, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Silver Eye promotes the power of contemporary photography as a fine art medium by creating original exhibitions, unique educational programing, and a space for artists to learn, create, and connect through our digital lab. Silver Eye’s programs are dedicated to supporting the work of emerging, mid-career, and under-recognized artists and sharing that work with our diverse audience in engaging and meaningful ways.

David holds an MFA from Columbia College Chicago and a BFA from the Rochester Institute of Technology. He also teaches the history of photography at Carnegie Mellon University. David has curated dozens of exhibitions at Silver Eye and he was a co-founder of the screening series Video Playlist at the Museum of Contemporary Photography in Chicago and he was the Lab Manager of Light Work in Syracuse, NY.



Doug Schwab & Betsey Hurwitz-Schwab


Boggs & Company Wealth Management
Martin & Gale Heavner
Sandi Saville


Keith Broome & Ben Osten
Tim & Marlee Gabriele
Frank Fotia & Patricia Hilton
Kim & Marion Leonard
The Hon. Raymond & Brenda Morriss
RBC Wealth Management
David & Amy Snyder
Vibrant Image Productions/Dave & Meg Romero


Adams Family Funeral Home, PA
Bob & Chayo de Chevez
Mark & Sue Moessinger
Mary Splain Shrout
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
John Short and Clara Porcello
Ann Townsell & Gary Phillips


Community Acupuncture
Janice Keene
Dale & Lynn Lazar
Timothy Michaels
James Guy & Donna Miller
Linda & Jack Parsons
Mary Beth Pirolozzi
Wheelzup Adventures
John & Janet Wunderlick

Become a Sponsor

Our Team

The Photography Committee of the Allegany Arts Council, chaired by Martin Heavner, champion this competition annually, securing important sponsorship funding, giving their expertise, time and energy to making this one of the signature events of our year.Thank you to the Photography Committee for all you do to make us a success!

Martin Heavner, Chair
Penny Knobel-Besa
Chayo de Chevez
Frank Fotia
Robert Hein
Darrin Isom
Mark Moessinger
Clara Porcello
Dave Romero
Sandi Saville
Doug Schwab
Ann Townsell