The Allegany Arts Council and its Saville Gallery is pleased to announce the
23rd Annual Will’s Creek Exhibition of Fine Art
September 3-24, 2022.

About the Show

The Will's Creek Competition & Exhibition of Fine Art is one of the signature events of the Allegany Arts Council, celebrating contemporary art in a variety of mediums.

Now, more than 20 years since its inception, the show continues to stretch the boundaries of contemporary art that reflect the issues that shape our world.

Today, these tumultuous times have clearly dictated the many changes, transformations, and transitions we find ourselves, our society, and the world going through.

To this end, 2022’s Will’s Creek Competition and Exhibition of Fine Art invited artists to submit their artwork related to the theme: Metamorphosis.

The exhibition will run in the Saville Gallery from September 3-24, 2022!

The Call

The call for entry is now closed.  We received nearly 450 entries in this year's competition, the most in our 23 years!  Thank you to all of the artists who supported this competition.


More than $4000 in prize money is awarded to the winning artists each year. In 2021, prizes were awarded in the following categories:

Best of Show $1500
First Place $1000
Second Place $750
Third Place $500
Honorable Mention $250
People's Choice $100

Meet the Juror

Ian Alden Russell
Curator, Educator & Artistic Director
Mattress Factory, Pittsburgh, PA

Ian Alden Russell is a curator, educator and artistic director. Currently working with the Mattress Factory in Pittsburgh, he previously held the post of Associate Professor and Director of the MA Programme in Cultural Management at the Chinese University of Hong Kong.  Prior to this, Russell held the posts of Artistic Director and Chief Curator with K11 in Beijing, Curator of Brown University’s David Winton Bell Gallery, Lecturer in Rhode Island School of Design’s Glass Department and Assistant Professor of Curating and Contemporary Art at Koç University in Istanbul, Turkey. Russell has also been a visiting critic at the University of Texas, Austin, Rhode Island School of Design and the School of Visual Arts New York. Russell received a Ph.D. in History from Trinity College Dublin and has held fellowships in Public Humanities at Brown University, Art and Archaeology at University College Dublin and the NEH Fellowship at the University of Notre Dame.

Select recent projects include: Design Consultant for Wafaa Bilal’s 186:01 at the House of Wisdom in Sharjah; Project Development Consultant for Tania Bruguera’s 10,148,451 for the Turbine Hall at Tate Modern; Curator of Melvin Edwards’s Festivals, Funerals, and New Life featuring works by Jayne Cortez, Artpace San Antonio’s 2015 International-Artist-in-Residence program and the premiers of Mark Dion’s Against the Current, Fatma Bucak’s And men turned their faces from there, Vincent Valdez’s The Strangest Fruit.



Doug Schwab and Betsey Hurwitz-Schwab


John M. Hart and A. William Davis
Peter Halmos
Frank Fotia and Pat Hilton
Al Delia and Cecelia Karas
Kim and Marion Leonard
Amy Schwab Owens and Stephen C. Owens
Ann Townsell and Gary Phillips
Sandi Saville
Scarpelli Funeral Home, P.A.


Valeria Arch
Maureen Connelly
Susan and Jeff Davis
Gale and Martin Heavner
Al and Donna Hunt
Dale and Lynn Lazar
Opposite Genders Salon, Inc.
Donna Miller
Vic Rezendes and John Minnich
Richard Welch
Steve Wilkinson
Karen and Jack Zealand


Mary Jane O'Rourke

Learn More About Sponsorship

Our Team

Each year, the Wills Creek Committee champions this competition by selecting an accomplished and notable juror, soliciting sponsorship funds, and giving time, talent and commitment to the exhibition. The following are part of the team – thank you for all you do to support us.
Sandi Saville, Co-Chair
Ann Townsell, Co-Chair
Frank Fotia
Donna Miller
Clara Porcello
Tama Scarpelli
Chris Sloan